Digital Publishing

In our digital publishing courses we design and develop interactions and user interfaces for and within the digital environment – for a large number of devices with small or large screens, or with no screens at all. Our students devise concepts that they then translate into designs and develop: for apps, the Internet of Things and digital products. In the course we will be analyzing and critically questioning current standards and design guidelines as well as designing new approaches for the future. The students will be learning about the basics of interaction design and will be taught methods of quickly testing and optimizing ideas and designs using prototypes. We aim to encourage our students to see the technological aspects of digital devices such as touch input, motion detectors and decentralized data networks and the demands to be made on them as opportunities. It is our objective to dispel the misgivings and apprehensions about programming that we often encounter amongst them and to encourage them to see coding independently as an way of producing digital tools and an extension to the design process itself. 

We attempt to bring out in them an inquisitive feel for engaging with the kind of technologies that are changing constantly or are unfamiliar to them and to investigate the latter’s creative potential. The results produced can be of an artistic/experimental nature, can clearly demonstrate potential for applications, or can be examples of how the two mutually influence each other.

The foundation course teaches the basics of design and the relevant technologies, with a focus on the Internet for desktops and mobile devices.

The courses foster an open-minded approach and the ability to conduct graphic and interactive experiments, as well as providing insights into databases and content management systems. 

In the advanced courses, the focus is on concepts and methods for user-centered design, independent of platform. They investigate different categories of devices such as wearables, smart TVs and networked products with various limitations and usage contexts, as well as looking at the meaning of interactive applications as a strategic point of contact for a particular brand.

Digital Publishing

In den Digital Publishing-Kursen gestalten und entwickeln wir Interaktionen und User Interfaces für und im digitalen Raum für eine Vielzahl an Geräten mit kleinen, großen oder gar keinen Screens. Die Studierenden konzipieren, gestalten und entwickeln Apps, Internet of Things-Objekte und digitale Produkte, dabei analysieren und hinterfragen wir kritisch aktuelle Standards und Design-Guidelines und entwerfen neue Ansätze für die Zukunft. Es werden Grundlagen der Interaktionsgestaltung vermittelt und Methoden gelehrt, wie Ideen und Entwürfe mit Hilfe von Prototypen schnell getestet und optimiert werden können. Es gilt die technologischen Beschaffenheiten und Anforderung an digitale Geräte, wie Touch-Eingabe, Bewegungssensoren und (de)zentrale Datennetze als Chancen zu entdecken. Die häufig gegebene Angst und Ehrfurcht vor Programmierung soll abgebaut werden und das selbstständige coden als Möglichkeit verstanden werden, digitale Werkzeuge zu erstellen und den eigenen Gestaltungsprozess zu erweitern. 

Wir versuchen ein Gespür und Neugierde zu entwickeln, sich auf stetig ändernde oder unbekannte Technologien einlassen zu können und deren kreative Potentiale zu erforschen. Die Ergebnisse können sowohl einen künstlerisch-experimentellen Charakter aufweisen, als auch klar angewandt verortet sein und/oder sich gegenseitig beeinflussen. 

Im Grundlagenkurs werden technologische und gestalterische Grundlagen mit Fokus auf das Web für Desktop und Mobile gesetzt.

Die Offenheit und auch die Fähigkeit zu grafischen und interaktiven Experimenten wird vermittelt, aber auch Einblicke in Datenbanken und Content-Management-Systeme werden gegeben. 

In den fortgeschrittenen Kursen liegt der Fokus auf Konzepten und Methoden für eine plattformunabhängige, nutzerzentrierte Gestaltung. Dabei werden verschiedene Geräteklassen wie Wearables, Smart-TVs oder vernetzte Produkte mit unterschiedlichen Einschränkungen und Nutzungskontexten behandelt, sowie die Bedeutung von interaktiven Anwendungen als strategischer Markenkontaktpunkt betrachtet.