VideoLab

All Visual Communication students from the basic and advanced courses who work with time-based moving images are supervised in the VideoLab. A series of seminars provides an introduction to the practical and theoretical fundamentals of film design from recording digital images and sound to lighting design to assembly and video finishing in postproduction. The advanced video courses consolidate the skills students have acquired with the aim of enabling them to professionally carry out all the steps of digital film production. These technical skills and artistic abilities culminate in the realization of independent film projects or joint cooperation projects in the areas of documentary film, reportage, image film, live mix – or even in the making of an experimental film, music video or video installation. In the VideoLab students can work on their audio-visual projects around the clock.

The VideoLab is headed by Diplom-Designer Claus Withopf (Teacher for Special Purposes Film/Video).

Knowledge Campaign

Ambassador videos for the campaign »Hessen creates knowledge«

Students created 38 videos for the communication initiative »Hessen creates knowledge« of the Hessen State Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts (HMWK).

This VideoLab project was realized with a large film team over two semesters. It involved interviewing academics at twelve universities in Hessen and representatives of renowned research institutes who work as ambassadors for the »Hessen creates knowledge« initiative.

The knowledge ambassadors are presented in one-minute clips in which they talk about their current research and teaching, touching on their individual topics and specialist areas. In addition, the videos provide a brief insight into a wide range of research institutions, laboratories and university teaching areas.

All the videos can also be viewed online on the initiative’s own platform: www.hessen-schafft-wissen.de

Film team 

Doreen Keck, Anna Pietocha, Aleksandar Radan, Thomas Kneffel, Stephanie Kayß, Marco Russo, Maximilian Reimann, Jonatan Schwenk, Denis Carbone, Matthias Lawetzky, Merlin Flügel, Brix Koethe, Oliver Rossol, Thomas Bannier, Ferdinand Paul, Veruschka Bohn, Luana Carina Knipfer, Boris Dörning

On behalf of

Hessen State Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts (HMWK)

In collaboration

with Hessen Agentur, Oliver Zarski

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 1

    Ambassadors for the »Hessen creates knowledge« initiative

    Setphoto

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 3

    Ambassadors for the »Hessen creates knowledge« initiative

    Setphoto

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 2

    Ambassadors for the »Hessen creates knowledge« initiative

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 4

    Ambassadors for the »Hessen creates knowledge« initiative

  • Wissensbotschafter video stills

    Ambassadors for the »Hessen creates knowledge« initiative

    Video stills

Ambassadors for the »Hessen creates knowledge« initiative

Setphoto

Video.Talks

Relaese of the DVD series Video.Talks

The DVD series Video.Talks with selected and recorded lectures held at HfG Offenbach can now be loaned out from the HfG Library/Media Library. The series encompasses 41 videos: lectures and events from the years 2003 to 2013. In addition, some of these lectures can be viewed iTunesU. The DVD series is realized in the Video Practice II course.

Lectures by

Kurt Weidemann, Barbara Bierach, Stefan Nowak , Cyan, Jan Weiler, Mike Hentz, Lothar Spree, Lou Yongqi, Liu Yang, Lü Jingren, Sascha Lobe, Chen Zhengda, Bi Xuefeng, Chen Shaohua, Wang Min, Zhang Suojia, Song Xiewei, Eike König, Wolfgang Ullrich, Burghart Schmidt, Lambert Wiesing, Hans Ulrich Reck, Kai Vöckler, Michael Erlhoff, Manfred Faßler, Adam Jankowski, Regine Prange, Marc Ries, Ernst Hubeli, George DuBose , Steven Henry Madoff , Martin Gessmann, Juliane Rebentisch, Siggi Becker, Peter Eckart, Petra Gropp, Sebastian Oschatz, Christoph Schröder, Peter Kemper, Petra Eggers, Peter Bilak, Oded Ezer, Johannes Bergerhausen, eps 51, Na Kim, Shoko Mugikura, Alan Shapiro, Christiane Voss, Simon Rothöhler, and others.

Participating students involved in realization

Johannes Lenzgeiger, Max Brück, Maximilian Reimann, Anne Euler, Jennifer Gelardo, Lea Schneidermann, Yacin Boudalfa, Roman Degreif, Carolin Liebl, Karolina Novoselskaja, Laura Robert, Yves Bierwald, Linnan Zhang, Simon Henrich, Nils Waldmann, Markus Neunobel, Philipp Karau, Shaowei Jia, Jia Kun Wang, Julia Boswank, Liu Yue, Nicolas Gebbe, Xingni Li, Pauline Biller, Ferdinand Paul, Margarethe Kollmer, Thomas Bannier, Deveroe Aurel Langston Reuter, Georgios Koumanidis, David Loimi Brautmann, and others.

Video talks promo foto 1

Video talks promo foto 02

Documentary

  • Joblinge still 2

    Joblinge

    Documantary film, still, 2012

  • Joblinge still 1

    Joblinge

    Still, 2012

  • Joblinge still 3

    Joblinge

    Still, 2012

Joblinge

Documantary film, still, 2012

  • Joblinge dreharbeiten maintower

    Joblinge

    Shooting Maintower, Frankfurt, 2012

  • Joblinge dreharbeiten maintower 1

    Joblinge

    Setphoto, Frankfurt, 2012

Joblinge

Shooting Maintower, Frankfurt, 2012

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 16 28 14

Joblinge – Die Tätigkeit der ehrenamtlichen Mentoren

Dokumentary film, 2012, HD, 17 min. 

(abridged version 5 min.)

Documentary film »Joblinge«

The Work of Voluntary Mentors

​A cooperation with Helaba, Landesbank Hessen-Thüringen and Joblinge gAG Frankfurt

The non-profit-making initiative Joblinge gAG addresses young unemployed people and young adults who have poor chances on the labor market. In a program lasting around six months, the young people prepare themselves for the challenges of the working world and step by step work towards their job or training placement. Each youngster is assigned their own voluntary mentor for the duration of the program, someone whose own successful career means they can offer ample advice.

The short documentary film presents the various stages of mentoring and accompanies the Joblinge mentor tandems on their joint path to a successful conclusion of the program and the start of the participants’ training.

Participating students

Stephanie Kayß, Andrew Meyer, Thomas Kneffel, Robin Keast, Maximilian Reimann, Jonatan Schwenk, Boris Dörning, and others. 

In cooperation with

with Helaba, Landesbank Hessen-Thüringen and Joblinge gAG Frankfurt

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 16 49 02

so wie ihr euch erinnert

2011, DV, 30 min.

Philipp Kaaru

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 16 38 17

Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

2011, DV, 26 min.

Stephanie Kayß

  • Doku glueck gehabt kayss still 1

    Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

    Stills. 2011

    Stephanie Kayß

  • Doku glueck gehabt kayss still 2

    Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

    Still

    Stephanie Kayß

  • Doku glueck gehabt kayss still 3

    Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

    Still

    Stephanie Kayß

Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

Stills. 2011

Stephanie Kayß

Documentary video practice

Interdisciplinary video practice project in basic and advanced courses in

​As part of the special exhibition »Focus on Strangers. Photo Albums of World War II« at Historical Museum Frankfurt, historians conducted four interviews with contemporary witnesses that were recorded on video by students Valentin Denisowski, Stephanie Kayß, Philipp Karau and Maximilian Reimann so as to preserve their memories for posterity. Topics in the interviews were the individual views of the Wehrmacht soldiers and their recollections. By using them to complement the exhibition, it was possible to demonstrate the discrepancy between what historians know about Nazism and the subjective, often positive recollections of fathers and grandfathers. The unabridged video interviews, lasting several hours, will be made available to researchers and pedagogic instructors at the Fritz Bauer Institute and Historical Museum Frankfurt and kept in the archives. The cooperation between HfG Offenbach and Historical Museum Frankfurt was proposed by Petra Spona, the historian responsible for coordinating the Frankfurt presentation of the traveling exhibition. Petra Spona, Jörg Osterloh and Wolf von Wolzogen conducted the interviews.

From the eleven hours of video material recorded, students Stephanie Kayß and Philipp Karau each compiled a documentary film. Their individual approaches and method of dealing with the topic, selection and use of different cinematic stylistic devices demonstrate the diversity of documentary work even when the same basic material is used as a foundation. Both with regard to their different focus and in the overlapping of material, the two films complement each other and each show new aspects.

Stephanie Kayß »Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt« (Link)

2011, DV, 26 min.

In »Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt« (Lucky, or how to survive the war) four former Wehrmacht soldiers talk about what was arguably the most dramatic part of their lives. Sometimes the tone is impressive and moving, at others laconic. Pride and the playing down of things are just as evident as trauma and repression.

Philipp Karau: »so wie ihr euch erinnert« (Link)

2011, DV, 30 min.

»so wie ihr euch erinnert« (How you remember) is a documentary, fragmentary test arrangement of four former Wehrmacht soldiers, who recall the same time, but independently of one another. With little recourse to fussy anecdotes, the protagonists give an idea of how they felt about their own socialization in a totalitarian state, about the Holocaust, the crimes of the German military. This provides a heterogeneous / multiple / contradictory view of the Nazi regime and its ideology. The film places a particular focus on the questioning of the men and shows this in their non-verbal responses to the questions posed to them: in how they listen, wait, recollect, form their thoughts and struggle for words.

Contemporary witnesses

Harry Hügle, Hans Limbacher, Hans Pleitgen, Günter Sieling

Camera

Valentin Denisowski, Stephanie Kayß, Philipp Karau, Maximilian Reimann

In cooperation with

Historical Museum Frankfurt: Petra Spona, Wolf von Wolzogen and Fritz Bauer Institute: Jörg Osterloh, Gottfried Kößler 

Experiminta 2

Ex­per­im­inta

Doc­u­men­tary, 2011

Experiminta 1

Experimenta

Doc­u­men­tary, 2011

Documentary Experiminta

Video on the creation of the Science Center Experiminta, Frankfurt

On the Video Practice II course students realized a documentary on the creation of the Science Center Experiminta in Frankfurt. The video was first shown on March 1, 2011 during the opening of Experiminta in Frankfurt. In the Science Center around 100 experimenting stations invite visitors to explore scientific phenomena and mathematical relationships.

Experiminta

Documentary / DV / 05:30 min. / 2011

Video Practice II course

Participating students

Julia Boswank, Philipp Karau, Nicolas Gebbe, Shaowei Jia, Jia Kun Wang, Liu Yue

Music: Yaschar Scheyda

  • World vision video standbild 2

    World Vision Clip

    Stills

  • World vision video standbild 3

    World Vision Clip

    Still

  • World vision video zwei

    World Vision Clip

    Still

World Vision Clip

Stills

World Vision Clip

on the topic »Voluntary work«

Participating students

Philipp Karau, Robert Kulet, Myria Nicolaidou, Maximilian Reimann

Luminale pictures for pilots anne clark live

Luminale: Pictures for pilots

Anne Clark Live

Luminale

Picture for pilots

As part of Luminale 2010 Claus Withopf and his students at HfG Offenbach presented two film programs in cooperation with Hafen 2 in Offenbach. The 54- square-meter projection space on the outer wall of the Ölhalle factory building on the Hafenwiese became an open-air cinematic installation at dusk. On April 11 Claus Withopf showed 16 selected short films. The films were created in seminars with Prof. Heiner Blum, Prof. Mariola Brillowska, Prof. Rotraut Pape and LfbA Claus Withopf. Films by the following students were shown: Karolin Back, Hannes Körkel, David Jahn, Linda Horn, Janine Maschinsky, Jörn von Lutzau, Jung Hyo Kwag, Valentin Denisowski, Magda Mogila, Liliane Buckler, Boris Dörning, Yaschar Scheyda, Marco Russo, Thomas Kneffel, Dana Mikelson, Mira Bussemer, and David Sarno.

On April 16, Claus Withopf premiered the original director’s cut of his concert film »ANNE CLARK LIVE« in the highly suitable atmosphere prevailing on the disused industrial landscape on the Hafeninsel. The English New Wave poet presents a repertoire covering more than 25 years. As a pioneer of Electronic music who paved the way for the Techno movement, she creates a unique soundscape to her unmistakable spoken words. Lasting 116 minutes, the film was made simultaneously on nine HD cameras. Students Cornelia Schendel, Tobias Hornig and Denis Carbone were part of the camera crew. HfG alumnus Jörg Ritter was involved in the film project as an editor.

The Luminale title »Pictures for Pilots: Projections for Pilots on the Approach« alludes to the fact that the supposed glare from a pilot coming in to land led to the spectacular deployment of a police helicopter. However, because of the flight ban imposed owing to the volcanic eruption on Iceland, this special target audience was left out of the action.

World Vision Video

For the gala event marking the 30th anniversary of the children’s relief organization World Vision Deutschland, students on the Video Practice II course produced a video clip as a semester project in cooperation with the Offenbach elementary schools Bieber and Beethovenschule. In the three-minute film the children relate in their own amusing words what they imagine the work of a children’s relief organization to be like and what other children in the world might be lacking. The gala took place on November 26, 2009 in the Palais at Frankfurt Zoo.

Participating students

Linda Horn, Janine Maschinsky, Jörn von Lutzau, Jung Hyo Kwag, Valentin Denisowski

Official thanks World Vision Video

Ms. Schneider and Ms. Klein (Schule Bieber Offenbach)
Mr. Beitler (Beethovenschule Offenbach)

In collaboration

with World Vision Deutschland e.V., Gabriele Rohde and Oliver Müller

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 17 00 16

HfG Offenbach »10 x CrossMediaNight 2000 – 2008«

Dokumentary

MiniDV / 23:02 min / 2008

Documentary »10 x CrossMediaNight 2000 – 2008«

A 23-minute anniversary documentary and trailer were produced for the 10th CrossMediaNight 2008 in the Video Practice II course. The first CrossMediaNight 2000 resulted from the end-of-semester presentation by Electronic Image students, and from them on has been held twice a year. Ultimately, CrossMediaNight developed into a permanent feature of the HfG annual show: an evening with video projections, performances, stage shows and live music.

Participating students

Dana Mikelson, Marco Russo, Jessica Sehrt, Lena Ditlmann, Miguel Graetzer, Alexis Guillier

10 x CrossMediaNight 2000 – 2008

Documentary, DV, 23:02 min.
Video Practice II course

Trailer for the 10th CrossMediaNight 2008

Trailer, DV, 00:48 min.
Video Practice II course
​Editing: Jessica Sehrt

VideoLab

VideoLab

Im VideoLab werden alle Studierende der Visuellen Kommunikation aus dem Grund- und Hauptstudium betreut, die mit zeitbasierten bewegten Bildern arbeiten. Aufeinander aufbauende Seminare führen in die praktischen und theoretischen Grundlagen der Filmgestaltung ein: von der digitalen Bild- und Tonaufnahme über Lichtgestaltung bis hin zur Montage und Videonachbearbeitung in der Postproduktion. Die fortgeschrittenen Videokurse vertiefen die erlernten Fähigkeiten mit dem Ziel, alle Arbeitsschritte der digitalen Filmherstellung professionell durchführen zu können. Diese technischen Kenntnisse und künstlerischen Fähigkeiten münden in die Realisation eigenständiger Filmprojekte oder gemeinsamer Kooperationsarbeiten in den Bereichen Dokumentarfilm, Reportage, Imagefilm, Livemix – oder auch in der Umsetzung eines Experimentalfilms, Musikvideos oder einer Videoinstallation. Im VideoLab können die Studierenden rund um die Uhr an ihren audiovisuellen Werken arbeiten.

Das VideoLab wird von Dipl.-Des. Claus Withopf (Lehrer für besondere Aufgaben Film/Video) geleitet.

Wissenschaftsoffensive

BotschafterInnen-Videos für die Kampagne »Hessen schafft Wissen«

Für die Kommunikationsinitiative „Hessen schafft Wissen“ des Hessischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK) haben Studierende 38 Videos erstellt.

Das Projekt des VideoLabs wurde mit einem großen Filmteam über zwei Se­mester hinweg realisiert. Dafür wurden an zwölf hessischen Hochschulen Wis­senschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie Vertreter renommierter Forschungseinrichtungen interviewt, die sich als BotschafterInnen der Initiative „Hessen schafft Wissen“ engagieren.

In den einminütigen Clips werden die WissensbotschafterInnen porträtiert und berichten über ihre aktuelle Forschung und Lehre mit ihren individuellen Themen und Schwerpunkten. Zudem bekommt man in den Videos einen kur­zen Einblick in ganz unterschiedliche Forschungseinrichtungen, Labore und Lehrgebiete der Universitäten.

Alle Videos sind auch auf der Webplattform der Initiative online zu sehen: www.hessen-schafft-wissen.de

​Filmteam

Doreen Keck, Anna Pietocha, Aleksandar Radan, Thomas Kneffel, Stephanie Kayß, Marco Russo, Maximilian Reimann, Jonatan Schwenk, Denis Carbone, Matthias Lawetzky, Merlin Flügel, Brix Koethe, Oliver Rossol, Thomas Bannier, Ferdinand Paul, Veruschka Bohn, Luana Carina Knipfer, Boris Dörning

​Im Auftrag

des Hessischen Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Kunst (HMWK)

​In Zusammenarbeit

mit der Hessen Agentur, Oliver Zarski

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 1

    Wissensbotschafter

    Setfoto

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 3

    Wissensbotschafter

    Setfoto

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 2

    Wissensbotschafter

    Setfoto

  • Wissensbotschafter setfoto 4

    Wissensbotschafter

    Setfoto

  • Wissensbotschafter video stills

    Wissensbotschafter

    Videostills

Wissensbotschafter

Setfoto

Video.Talks

Release der DVD-Reihe

Die DVD-Reihe Video.Talks mit ausgewählten und aufgezeichneten Vorträgen an der HfG Offenbach steht in der Bibliothek/Mediathek der HfG zum Ausleihen bereit. Die Reihe umfasst 41 Titel: Vorträge und Veranstaltungen aus den Jahren 2003 bis 2013. Darüber hinaus sind einige dieser Vorträge auf iTunes abrufbar. Die DVD-Reihe wird im Kurs Videopraxis II realisiert.

Vorträge

Kurt Weidemann, Barbara Bierach, Stefan Nowak , Cyan, Jan Weiler, Mike Hentz, Lothar Spree, Lou Yongqi, Liu Yang, Lü Jingren, Sascha Lobe, Chen Zhengda, Bi Xuefeng, Chen Shaohua, Wang Min, Zhang Suojia, Song Xiewei, Eike König, Wolfgang Ullrich, Burghart Schmidt, Lambert Wiesing, Hans Ulrich Reck, Kai Vöckler, Michael Erlhoff, Manfred Faßler, Adam Jankowski, Regine Prange, Marc Ries, Ernst Hubeli, George DuBose , Steven Henry Madoff , Martin Gessmann, Juliane Rebentisch, Siggi Becker, Peter Eckart, Petra Gropp, Sebastian Oschatz, Christoph Schröder, Peter Kemper, Petra Eggers, Peter Bilak, Oded Ezer, Johannes Bergerhausen, eps 51, Na Kim, Shoko Mugikura, Alan Shapiro, Christiane Voss, Simon Rothöhler u.a.

Beteiligte Studierende

Johannes Lenzgeiger, Max Brück, Maximilian Reimann, Anne Euler, Jennifer Gelardo, Lea Schneidermann, Yacin Boudalfa, Roman Degreif, Carolin Liebl, Karolina Novoselskaja, Laura Robert, Yves Bierwald, Linnan Zhang, Simon Henrich, Nils Waldmann, Markus Neunobel, Philipp Karau, Shaowei Jia, Jia Kun Wang, Julia Boswank, Liu Yue, Nicolas Gebbe, Xingni Li, Pauline Biller, Ferdinand Paul, Margarethe Kollmer, Thomas Bannier, Deveroe Aurel Langston Reuter, Georgios Koumanidis, David Loimi Brautmann u.a.

Video talks promo foto 1

Video talks promo foto 02

Dokumentationen

  • Joblinge still 2

    Joblinge

    Kurzdokumentation, Still, 2012

  • Joblinge still 1

    Joblinge

    Kurzdokumentation, Still, 2012

  • Joblinge still 3

    Joblinge

    Kurzdokumentation, Still, 2012

Joblinge

Kurzdokumentation, Still, 2012

  • Joblinge dreharbeiten maintower

    Joblinge

    Dreharbeiten Maintower, Frankfurt, 2012

  • Joblinge dreharbeiten maintower 1

    Joblinge

    Dreharbeiten Maintower, Frankfurt, 2012

Joblinge

Dreharbeiten Maintower, Frankfurt, 2012

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 16 28 14

Joblinge – Die Arbeit der ehrenamtlichen Mentoren

Dokumentarfilm, 2012, HD, 17 Min. 
(Kurzfassung 5 min.)

Joblinge – Die Arbeit der ehrenamtlichen Mentoren

Dokumentarfilm

Die gemeinnützige Initiative Joblinge gAG wendet sich an arbeitslose Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene mit schlechten Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt.

In einem rund sechsmonatigen Programm bereiten sich die Jugendlichen auf die Herausforderung der Berufswelt vor und erarbeiten sich Schritt für Schritt ihren Ausbildungs- oder Arbeitsplatz. Jeder Jugendliche erhält für die Dauer des Programms seinen eigenen ehrenamtlichen Mentor, eine Person, die viel Erfahrung durch die eigene erfolgreiche Karriere mitbringt.

Der Kurzdokumentarfilm stellt die verschiedenen Stationen der Mentorentätigkeit dar und begleitet die Joblinge-Mentoren-Tandems auf ihrem gemeinsamen Weg bis zum erfolgreichen Abschluss der Joblinge und dem Beginn ihrer Ausbildung.

Beteiligte Studierende

​Stephanie Kayß, Andrew Meyer, Thomas Kneffel, Robin Keast, Maximilian Reimann, Jonatan Schwenk, Boris Dörning, u.a. 

Kooperation

mit der Helaba, Landesbank Hessen-Thüringen und der Joblinge gAG Frankfurt

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 16 49 02

so wie ihr euch erinnert

2011, DV, 30 min.

Philipp Kaaru

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 16 38 17

Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

2011, DV, 26 min.

Stephanie Kayß

  • Doku glueck gehabt kayss still 1

    Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

    Standbilder

    Stephanie Kayß

  • Doku glueck gehabt kayss still 2

    Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

    Standbild

    Stephanie Kayß

  • Doku glueck gehabt kayss still 3

    Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

    Standbild

    Stephanie Kayß

Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt

Standbilder

Stephanie Kayß

Dokumentarische Videopraxis

Kursübergreifendes Projekt im Grund- und Hauptstudium

Im Rahmen der Sonderausstellung »Fremde im Visier. Fotoalben aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg« im Historischen Museum Frankfurt wurden vier Interviews mit Zeitzeugen von Historikern durchgeführt und von den Studierenden Valentin Denisowski, Stephanie Kayß, Philipp Karau und Maximilian Reimann auf Video aufgezeichnet, um ihre Erinnerungen für die Nachwelt zu bewahren. In den Gesprächen waren die individuellen Sichtweisen der Wehrmachtssoldaten und ihre Erinnerungen Thema. Diese sollten die Ausstellung ergänzen, durch die vor allem die Diskrepanz zwischen dem Erkenntnisstand der Geschichtswissenschaft über den Nationalsozialismus und der subjektiven, oft positiv geformten Erinnerung an Väter und Großväter deutlich wird. Die mehrstündigen Videointerviews werden ungekürzt der wissenschaftlichen Forschung und pädagogischen Vermittlung des Fritz Bauer Instituts und des Historischen Museums Frankfurt zur Verfügung stehen und im Archiv aufbewahrt. Angeregt wurde die Kooperation zwischen der HfG Offenbach und dem Historischen Museum Frankfurt von Petra Spona, Historikerin und Koordinatorin der Frankfurter Präsentation der Wanderausstellung. Die Interviews führten Petra Spona, Jörg Osterloh und Wolf von Wolzogen.

Die Studierenden Stephanie Kayß und Philipp Karau erstellten aus dem insgesamt elfstündigen Videomaterial eigenständige Dokumentarfilme. Die individuelle Herangehensweise und der Umgang mit der Thematik, Auswahl und die Verwendung unterschiedlicher filmischer Stilmittel zeigen die Vielfalt dokumentarischen Arbeitens, selbst auf der Grundlage des gleichen Ausgangsmaterials. Sowohl durch den unterschiedlichen Fokus als auch durch die Überschneidungen im Material ergänzen sich die beiden Filme und zeigen jeweils neue Aspekte.

Stephanie Kayß »Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt«

2011, DV, 26 min.
​In »Glück gehabt oder wie man den Krieg überlebt« erzählen vier ehemalige Wehrmachtssoldaten, mal imposant und bewegend, mal lakonisch und still über den wohl dramatischsten Abschnitt ihres Lebens. Verharmlosung und Stolz schwingen dabei genauso mit, wie Traumata und Verdrängung.

Philipp Kaaru: »so wie ihr euch erinnert«

2011, DV, 30 min.
»so wie ihr euch erinnert« ist eine dokumentarisch fragmentarische Versuchsanordnung von vier ehemaligen Wehrmachtssoldaten, die sich unabhängig voneinander aber doch gleichzeitig erinnern. Weitgehend entkernt von betulichen Anekdoten, gewähren die Protagonisten einen Einblick in ihr Verhältnis zur eigenen Sozialisation in einem totalen Staat, zur Shoah, zu Verbrechen der deutschen Wehrmacht und ermöglichen eine heterogene / multiple / widerspruchsvolle Perspektive auf das NS-Regime und dessen Ideologie. Der Film legt einen besonderen Fokus auf den Vorgang der Befragung der Interviewten und zeigt diese in ihren nonverbalen Reaktionen im Angesicht der sich an sie richtenden Fragen: in den Momenten des Zuhörens, Wartens, des sich Entsinnens, Gedankenfassens und in ihrem Ringen nach Worten.

Zeitzeugen

Harry Hügle , Hans Limbacher, Hans Pleitgen, Günter Sieling

Kamera

Valentin Denisowski, Stephanie Kayß, Philipp Karau, Maximilian Reimann

Kooperation

mit dem Historischen Museum Frankfurt​: Petra Spona, Wolf von Wolzogen und dem Fritz Bauer Institut: Jörg Osterloh, Gottfried Kößler 

Experiminta 2

Ex­per­im­inta

Dokumentation, 2011

Experiminta 1

Experiminta

Dokumentation, 2011

Experiminta

Video zur Entstehung des Science Centers Experiminta, Frankfurt

Zur Entstehung des Science Centers Experimminta in Frankfurt wurde im Kurs Videopraxis II eine Dokumentation realisiert. Das Video wurde erstmals am 1. März 2011 zur Eröffnung des Science Centers ExperiMINTa in Frankfurt gezeigt. Im Science Center laden etwa 100 Experimentierstationen ein, naturwissenschaftliche Phänomene und mathematische Zusammenhänge zu ergründen

Experiminta

Dokumentation / DV / 05:30 min. / 2011

Beteiligte Studierende

Julia Boswank, Philipp Karau, Nicolas Gebbe, Shaowei Jia, Jia Kun Wang, Liu Yue

Musik

Yaschar Scheyda

  • World vision video standbild 2

    World Vision Clip

    Standbilder

  • World vision video standbild 3

  • World vision video zwei

World Vision Clip

Standbilder

World Vision Clip

Thema Ehrenamtliche Mitarbeit

Beteiligte Studierende

Philipp Karau, Robert Kulet, Myria Nicolaidou, Maximilian Reimann

Luminale pictures for pilots anne clark live

Pictures for pilots

Luminale
​Anne Clark Live

Luminale

Pictures for pilots

Im Rahmen der Luminale 2010 präsentiert Claus Withopf mit Studierenden der HfG Offenbach zwei Filmprogramme in Kooperation mit dem Hafen 2 in Offenbach. Die 54 Quadratmeter große Projektionsfläche an der Außenwand der Ölhalle auf der Hafenwiese wurde nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit zu einer Open Air Lichtspiel-Installation. Am 11. April zeigte Claus Withopf 16 ausgewählte Kurzfilme. Die Filme entstanden in Seminaren bei Prof. Heiner Blum, Prof. Mariola Brillowska, Prof. Rotraut Pape und LfbA Claus Withopf. Mit Filmen vertreten sind die Studierenden Karolin Back, Hannes Körkel, David Jahn, Linda Horn, Janine Maschinsky, Jörn von Lutzau, Jung Hyo Kwag, Valentin Denisowski, Magda Mogila, Liliane Buckler, Boris Dörning, Yaschar Scheyda, Marco Russo, Thomas Kneffel, Dana Mikelson, Mira Bussemer und David Sarno.

Am 16. April projizierte Claus Withopf erstmals den Original Director’s Cut seines Konzertfilms »Anne Clark Live« im dafür besonders passenden Ambiente der im Abriss befindlichen und brachliegenden Industrielandschaft auf der Hafeninsel. Die englische New Wave-Poetin präsentiert ein Repertoire aus mehr als 25 Jahren. Als Pionierin der elektronischen Musik und Wegbereiterin der Techno-Bewegung kreiert sie zu ihren unverwechselbaren Spoken Words eine einzigartige Klanglandschaft. Der 116-minütige Film wurde mit neun HD-Kameras simultan gedreht. Teil der Kameracrew waren die Studierenden Cornelia Schendel, Tobias Hornig und Denis Carbone. Als Cutter war der HfG-Alumnus Jörg Ritter an dem Filmprojekt beteiligt.

Der Luminale-Titel »Pictures for pilots: Projektionen für Piloten im Landeanflug« spielt darauf an, dass die angebliche Blendung von einem im Landeanflug befindlichen Piloten zu einem spektakulären Hubschraubereinsatz der Polizei führte. Durch das verhängte Flugverbot wegen des Vulkanausbruchs auf Island blieb allerdings dieses spezielle Zielpublikum außen vor.

World Vision Video

Für die Gala-Veranstaltung zum 30. Jubiläum des Kinderhilfswerks World Vision Deutschland ist im Kurs Videopraxis II ein Videoclip entstanden, der als Semesterarbeit in Zusammenarbeit mit den Offenbacher Grundschulen Schule Bieber und Beethovenschule umgesetzt wurde. In dem dreiminütigen Film erklären die Kinder auf amüsante Weise und in ihren Worten, wie sie sich die Tätigkeitsfelder eines Kinderhilfswerks vorstellen und was anderen Kindern in der Welt fehlen könnte. Die Veranstaltung mit geladenen Gästen fand am 26. November 2009 im Palais im Zoo Frankfurt statt. 

Beteiligte Studierende

Linda Horn, Janine Maschinsky, Jörn von Lutzau, Jung Hyo Kwag, Valentin Denisowski​

Danksagung World Vision Video

Frau Schneider und Frau Klein (Schule Bieber Offenbach), Herr Beitler (Beethovenschule Offenbach)

Kooperation

mit World Vision Deutschland e.V., Gabriele Rohde und Oliver Müller

Bildschirmfoto 2014 12 10 um 17 00 16

HfG Offenbach »10 x CrossMediaNight 2000 – 2008«

Dokumentation
​MiniDV / 23:02 min. / 2008

10 x CrossMediaNight 2000-2008

Dokumentation

Zur 10. CrossMediaNight 2008 wurden im Kurs Videopraxis II eine 23-minütige Jubiläums-Dokumentation und ein Trailer produziert. Die erste CrossMediaNight 2000 entstand aus der Semesterabschlusspräsentation des Lehrgebiets Elektronisches Bild und fand von da an zweimal im Jahr statt. Schließlich entwickelte sich die CrossMediaNight zu einem festen Programmpunkt des jährlichen HfG-Rundgangs: ein Abend mit Videoprojektionen, Performances, Bühnenshows und Live-Musik.

Beteiligte Studierende

Dana Mikelson, Marco Russo, Jessica Sehrt, Lena Ditlmann, Miguel Graetzer, Alexis Guillier

10 x CrossMediaNight 2000-2008

Dokumentation, DV, 23:02 min.

Trailer zur 10. CrossMediaNight 2008

Trailer, DV, 00:48 min.

Schnitt

Jessica Sehrt

News

Bildschirmfoto 2014 04 15 um 12 07 09
vor 3 Jahren

»neon« im Kino des Filmmuseum

Der Kurzspielfilm »neon« von Claus Withopf, Lehrer für besondere Aufgaben im Bereich Film/Video an der HfG Offenbach, wird im Rahmen der Ausstellung "Fassbinder - Jetzt" am 18. und 21. April 2014 im Kino des Filmmuseum gezeigt.