As the highest democratically elected body of the university, the Senate is made up of the member groups Professors, Employees and Students. It stands alongside individual functions such as the president or chancellor and, depending on the legal situation, carries out leadership duties of a strategic, advisory, legislative or controlling character. It thus makes decisions regarding, for example, statues, development planning, study courses, research coordination, approval of the structuring into departments and department assignment. Furthermore, the Senate comments on issues including target agreements and the budget plan, appointment recommendations, honorary professorships, the establishment/dissolution of central institutions and the plan for the promotion of women. (For more information see the Hessen Higher Education Act, section 40.) The sessions are open to the entire university.



Prof. Dr. Juliane Rebentisch
Prof. Klaus Hesse
Prof. Martin Liebscher
Prof. Wolfgang Luy
Prof. Frank Zebner
Prof. Peter Eckart
Prof. Rotraut Pape
Prof. Dr. Markus Holzbach
Prof. Heiner Blum


Prof. Dr. Christian Janecke
Prof. Sascha Lobe
Prof. Petra Kellner
Prof. Dr. Martin Gessmann
Prof. Siglinde Spanihel
​Prof. Manfred Stumpf
Prof. Rosalie
Prof. Werner Lorke


Hanna Lompa
Arootin Mirakhani
Kim Sylvestre Schön
Laura Krestan
Natalja Kreiter

Administrative-technical members

Christiane Kühn-Wilkens
Katja Kupfer

Wolfgang Rademacher

Scientific member

Clemens Mitscher

Stephan Blanché


Vice President

Gender Equality Officer

Christa Scheld

Chairman of the Staff Committee

Jörg Buch

Chairman of AStA

Kim Schön​